top of page

Is Racism Prominent at La Cueva?

By Yusef St. George


Racism is a commonly discussed topic in the United States, one that can ignite discomfort, arguments and even violence. Students at La Cueva High School report feeling tension when discussions turn to race.

Ten students here -- Gabriel Buie, Elijah LeGrand, Naseem Ali, Mohammed Rasheed, Ashley Escobedo, Emily Pena, Daniel Di Palma, Jerry Xia, Reza Rizvi, and Adina Dean -- shared their perspectives on the matter, including whether they have experienced racism in school. The races include African-American, Middle Eastern, Hispanic, Asian, and Indian.

Ali said, “I feel like I’ve experienced racism differently from other people just because I’m an Arab.” Ali responds to racism by taking it as motivation to prove that it doesn’t affect him, and that the opinion of others doesn’t change him. “I’ve been called a terrorist and a bomber before and it really just made my self-esteem low,” he said. “To think that all these people only see me as a ‘terrorist’ it really hurts for people to see me as not ‘normal.’ It really affects you after a while.”

Rasheed said, “I’ve been called multiple different names but the one I get called the most is definitely either ‘bomber’ or ‘terrorist.’” Rasheed thinks these people who say these types of things are ‘ignorant’ and ‘unseasoned.’”

“I don’t really know if this counts but I've been called a ‘Hot Cheeto girl’ before,” Escobedo said. “Also another person told me that I needed my green card.”

Escobedo slapped the person who called her a “hot Cheeto girl” but laughed at the “green card” comment because she considered it humorous.

Buie stated, “I’ve definitely experienced racism more than the average person at La Cueva.” Buie usually responds to this racism by using sports as motivation, to prove that he isn’t just an African-American but that he is equal to all other human beings. “I experience racism more than your average person at La Cueva because I’m a multi-sport athlete,” he said, “and have to go against all types of people.”

People who also have to deal with racism at La Cueva are the administration. They have to deal with the kids that give and receive the racism.

Megan Goodman, a counselor at La Cueva, said, “Racism is a problem and it definitely exists, but it’s not one our main problems.'' She said vaping and drugs are bigger problems here.

Assistant Principal Ashley Keilbarth said that racism definitely exists but is not prominent. She thinks that we could make change by thinking about what we say and how we say it.

When Keilbarth sees or hears racist actions she immediately takes care of it by talking to the victim and getting their side of the story. For the person who said the racist comment or did a racist action, they are immediately sent to administration and are dealt with depending on the seriousness of the situation. The discipline depends on the situations and could result in suspension, detention, and emails or calls to parents.

History teachers also have to deal with racism, some teachers more than others. Carrie Adams and Wesley Cole agreed that racism is very “normalized” at La Cueva. Both report hearing students using racial slurs with their friends in the hallways, but they have not heard it in their classrooms.

“A lot of people don’t want to ‘tackle’ the issue of race and how it exists,” said Cole, who believes that this is no longer just a past problem but one of the present and the past.

Adams said, “In my classroom, I do teach about racism, especially when looking at U.S. History and World History.”

“I don't know that [racism is] prominent within our school because I don't see it everyday, but it is there,” she added. “Outside of my class, I hear quite a few students using racial slurs in their friends groups and have heard of instances in classrooms where hate speech is used by students.”

When someone makes a racist comment, Keilbarth said, the best way to handle the situation is while it's happening. “Calling the person out in the moment is the most important way,” she said, “as long as it’s in a respectful manner.”

Teaching anti-racism is key, added Keilbarth: “I wish [Ethnic Studies] was a required course, becuase education on that topic really shines light on all backgrounds.”

Ethnic Studies is currently an elective.

Although racism might not be prominent at La Cueva, it is still a very big issue that isn’t talked about enough. If 8 of 10 students say they have experienced racism at La Cueva, there is a major problem. Although it might not happen in class, it still happens at our beloved school.


50 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page